Fox’s Steve Doocy: ‘I Make Shit Up’

Via TPM (at least they usually get the facts right), we learn how Fox News host Steve Doocy “apologized” for his addition of three loaded words to a quote from Obama (see “Lies, Damned Lies and Fox News Misquotes” below):

Facing strong criticism, Fox News host Steve Doocy on Tuesday morning corrected a quote by President Obama that he partially fabricated last week, conceding on air that he “did some paraphrasing.”

“Last week President Obama talked about not being born with a silver spoon in his mouth. That was interpreted as a big dig at Mitt Romney,” Doocy said toward the end of Fox & Friends. “When I was interviewing Governor Romney on this show I asked him about it. However, I did some paraphrasing that seemed to misquote the president. So to be clear, the president’s exact quote was, ‘I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth.’ And I hope that clears up any confusion.”

Oh, yeah, Steve, that clears up all confusion and leaves us with a crystal-clear conclusion: you make shit up on the air, for purely political purposes. And the fact that you do so justifies my headline above this post. “I did some paraphrasing”; so what? No big deal, right? I’ll stop doing it if you will. (No chance in Hell of that, right?)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Tuesday April 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Steve Douche—-says it all.

    • Steve  On Tuesday April 24, 2012 at 6:21 pm

      I don’t agree, MandT… a douche can conceivably justify its existence; Doocy cannot. 😈

  • MandT  On Tuesday April 24, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    I was thinking of substance rather than effacy. 🙂

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

