NYT Unclear On The Concept

They got me. I just clicked a link from Paul Krugman’s blog to his column today, and was informed that the allowed count of free articles read per month has been reduced from 20 to 10. OK; it’s their “newspaper.”

But I would have thought an organ like the NYT (you may decide for yourself which organ it is) would want EVERYONE to read its opinion columns for free, all the time, to obtain maximum influence in the marketplace of ideas.

I vaguely remember that links from a blog are supposed to fly through with no interference, so here’s a link to the Krugman article I was trying to reach. I’ll update you with the result.

UPDATE: yep… slick as cat-poop on the floor outside the litter box! So… NYT doesn’t want bloggers to read its op-eds, only to link them. Riiiight…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • L’Enfant de la Haute Mer  On Monday April 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Steve,
    PK column sent

    • Steve  On Monday April 23, 2012 at 6:34 pm

      Enfant, thanks; perhaps I didn’t make it clear that I was, indeed, able to read it on the NYT site… by creating a link to it from my blog. NYT’s management types are foolish beyond words…

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

