Kucinich Condemns Obama’s ‘Assault On The Constitution’

Rep. Dennis Kucinich (D-OH) may have lost his primary battle to Marcy Kaptur, but he is clearly not about to sit down and STFU, however much the Obama administration may wish him to do so. Here’s Kucinich, quoted by Sahil Kapur of TPM:

“Any assault on the Constitution ought to be challenged,” Kucinich told TPM in a Thursday interview at his Capitol Hill office. “This is absolutely an assault on the Constitution.”

“The idea that the United States has the ability to summarily execute a US citizen ought to send chills racing up and down the spines of every person of conscience,” he argued. “The fact that our government can set itself up as policeman, prosecutor, judge, jury and executioner, all wrapped into one fatal moment, should cause every person who loves this country to be deeply concerned about the direction we’re going.”

(Emphasis mine.) Once, long ago, I supported Kucinich in a presidential run. Another time, I supported John Kerry, but ended up wishing I’d supported Kucinich… the end result was the same (the GOP took the presidency by hook or crook), and Kucinich is a much closer fit to my principles than Kerry. It is a sign of the accelerating, intensifying decline of our nation that Kucinich feels he has no choice but to condemn publicly the actions of a president from his own party. He is righteous in doing so, and I stand with him.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • NTodd Pritsky  On Friday March 9, 2012 at 9:48 am

    I wrote Dennis in for my primary vote this week. Obama won our town: 24-1. SO CLOSE!

    Methinks the other 3 DK supporters from 2008 voted for Santorum this year…

    • Steve  On Friday March 9, 2012 at 10:04 am

      NTodd, perhaps I will do something similar, not in the primary but in the general election. I resigned my membership in the Democratic Party for several reasons, but mostly because I cannot bring myself to vote for a man who cold-bloodedly orders assassinations of American citizens, far from any battlefield, and does it in the name of the people of the United States. I will not be made an assassin… thus I will not vote for Obama.

      “Methinks the other 3 DK supporters from 2008 voted for Santorum this year…”

      😆

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

