Rmoney (sic): I’ve Got Mine, Screw You

Paul Krugman quotes David Firestone of NYT, in turn quoting a truly astonishing piece of work from a truly astonishing piece of work (Mitt Rmoney [sic]):

It would be popular for me to stand up and say I’m going to give you government money to pay for your college, but I’m not going to promise that,” he said, to sustained applause from the crowd at a high-tech metals assembly factory here. “Don’t just go to one that has the highest price. Go to one that has a little lower price where you can get a good education. And hopefully you’ll find that. And don’t expect the government to forgive the debt that you take on.

Mitt may as well raise his middle finger while he speaks. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a more egregious example of “I’ve got mine; fuck you” from anyone in public life.

As one who started life in the economic lower class, I freely admit that I went to college largely at someone else’s expense: with the help of the university’s financial aid office, I managed to find full-tuition scholarships every year of my five-year engineering degree program. No one asked me to pay it back. After I graduated, I became a productive and charitable citizen for about four decades.

Mittens, on the other hand, seems to live up to the late lamented Ann Richards’s famous quote about GeeDubya Bush: “born on third base; thinks he hit a triple.” (Some say the quote was originally from retired Cowboys coach Barry Switzer; I heard it from Ann during her final unsuccessful run for governor.) I only hope Rmoney doesn’t get to walk home.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Thursday March 8, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Perhaps someone told Romney he might as well give up the pretense of relating to normal folk. He can’t pull it off anyway.

    • Steve  On Thursday March 8, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      Mad, Romney may be attempting to appeal to the base by saying extreme things, but not every member of the base has money to burn, and some of them probably don’t like what he’s saying. At least I’m counting on that…

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

