Phil Harris Novelty Song: ‘The Thing’, 1950

I often take a nap in mid-afternoon before Stella comes home from work. Today I was awakened by Stella’s arrival, only to realize that my mind was singing to me. What was it singing? A novelty song that topped the charts in 1950. I think my parents must have had a 78rpm record of it, because my memory of it was virtually complete, which usually means that at some point in my childhood I attempted to memorize the song. Anyway, here are the lyrics, and below is the song. Enjoy!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Monday February 20, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    78’s! We are walking Smithsonians aren’t we? I recall a red vinyl, see-through record of Mozart my Dad had in his collection. But then I was a kid who loved to collect the colored wrappers in which Easter Eggs from Fanny Farmer chocolates arrived to our delight.

    • Steve  On Tuesday February 21, 2012 at 7:14 am

      MandT, when you were a child, did you ever have any Golden Records? They were tiny and yellow, and offered music considered suitable for kids. On one side of one I had was “The Woody Woodpecker Song”; on the other side was something called “Woodpecker’s Dance,” which was in real life a gavotte from one of the Bach orchestral suites… presumably the first Bach I heard in my life!

  • ellroon  On Tuesday February 21, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Omg! 78s and floppy green and yellow records…. I remember these. But I was really small .. really…

    • Steve  On Tuesday February 21, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      ellroon – 🙂

      In 1950, I turned 2. The Phil Harris record may have belonged to my uncle who lived with my grandma; he had a record player long before my immediate household did. Ironically, I was the first in the household to have a record player… one that used MECHANICAL AMPLIFICATION, i.e., a very unusual sort of horn built into the tone arm, and for needles, it used… NEEDLES! the kind you sew with!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

