Save Women: Screw Komen, Give To Planned Parenthood Instead

I just received an email from Planned Parenthood, but you can read essentially the same news on Jonathan Turley’s site: the Susan G. Komen foundation, a group that heretofore has been generous in its efforts to promote breast cancer screening including among women who cannot afford it, has succumbed to right-wing pressure and cut off its contributions to Planned Parenthood, which does more breast cancer screenings for women without means than any other organization in America.

Women, I regret to inform you that your boobies have just been politicized.

Fight back. If you have given to Komen in the past, please give to Planned Parenthood in the future. (That reminds me; I need to renew my membership.)

UPDATE: this is no small part of Planned Parenthood’s breast-cancer-related services being cut: according to an email from MoveOn, Planned Parenthood performs 830,000 breast exams a year… of which 170,000 were funded by Komen. Those 170,000 women don’t matter to the zealots who pressured Komen into doing this, but you have to ask yourself: how many of those women will DIE as a result of undiagnosed breast cancer? To my mind, for every one of them who dies who could have been saved by earlier examination… her death is the Komen foundation’s fault. I would find that a heavy burden to bear; I wonder if they do.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Wednesday February 1, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    This is one of the most important stories of the year! Thanks for covering it. We did so through Americablog and urge all donations be shifted to Planned parenthood.

    • Steve  On Wednesday February 1, 2012 at 3:00 pm

      MandT, a few years ago I got into a tug-of-war with Planned Parenthood over my telephone: I didn’t want them to use it to contact me, when both snail mail and email worked perfectly well. Anyway, I dropped my membership, and perhaps 5 years later, the phone calls stopped. Today I decided there are things more important than my annoyance at mere phone calls, and rejoined for good and all this time. I did some IT work for what is now Planned Parenthood Gulf Coast 20-odd years ago; it’s time I did something useful again… even if the “something” is only to give them some money. I am fucking fed up with the use of our nation’s laws to browbeat an organization that provides fully legal services, some of which… abortion, for example… are constitutionally protected.

  • MandT  On Wednesday February 1, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    I trust and expect that there will be a huge political swell among women voters on this issue and abortion in particular.

    • Steve  On Wednesday February 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm

      MandT, it’s hard to tell. There are a lot of crazies in America today, and some of them are women. On the other hand, Planned Parenthood has survived many, many decades of hostility of various sorts, and I expect them to survive this one as well. Komen Foundation? not so much.

      I don’t think the nutjobs have thought this through, in several ways. For one thing, they run against Planned Parenthood… no Planned Parenthood, no enemy; no enemy, no one to run against.

      For another, Planned Parenthood members, staff, leadership and yes, women who are clients are seriously disinclined to take this kind of shit. Already, the barrage of signatures on at least three different petitions I know about (I signed each of them, each sponsored by a different org) is beginning to weigh down the mail sacks at Komen.

      Finally, as any Planned Parenthood staffer or doctor can tell you, the women and girls who use their services are NOT limited to those who would admit it in public: many are the Republican or evangelical Christian parents of teenage daughters who suddenly saw things differently when it was THEIR daughter who was unintentionally pregnant.

      Am I saying they are liars? I can’t really claim that; I suspect some of them realize the desperate necessity of Planned Parenthood for the first time when their own daughters become pregnant unintentionally, or can’t obtain breast cancer screening at an affordable cost. I don’t care about the parents as much as I do about their daughters. If Planned Parenthood goes down, a great number of people… politically left, center and right… are going to find their alleged “principles” tested sorely. As politically inconvenient as I find all the garbage shoveled by probably well-meaning but ill-advised parents, I shall do everything… for the sake of the daughters… to make certain Planned Parenthood never vanishes.

  • Bryan  On Wednesday February 1, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    This decision is brain dead. You cannot negotiate with the whackoes. They want research stopped, and you can’t pretend to be seeking a cure if you don’t do the research.

    A Congressional investigation as an excuse?! The morons in the House can call for an investigation into nothing and often have. What happens when it goes nowhere and proves nothing?

    Komen just committed suicide, They won’t realize it for a while, but they have. The whackoes talk a good game when it comes to charities, but they don’t donate or support them.

    • Steve  On Thursday February 2, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Bryan, of all the mysteries about the sorry phenomenon that is the American Right, the greatest is their anti-science stance. One could attribute their anti-evolution position to sheer egotism about their position at the center of the universe, but what about weapons? These people love weapons; how can they hate the science that makes it possible to create them? And contraceptives: as anti-abortion as they are, how can they hate the science that enables contraception? And yet they do. “Science evil. religion good… Hulk smash science!”

      I’m not sure Komen Foundation killed itself. There’s a lot of wingnut welfare out there, and I suspect someone will sign them up for it.

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Thursday February 2, 2012 at 3:03 am

    Well said! Komen’s actions are a disgrace.

    And thanks for posting your fun limerick on my site!

    • Steve  On Thursday February 2, 2012 at 10:11 am

      Thanks, Mad. Yes, the folks at Komen ought to be ashamed of themselves… but it is not the way of the radical right to feel shame for their deplorable acts. Lacking shame, I’ll settle for destitution. I hope… I presume… Planned Parenthood will come up with the money for those cancer screenings somewhere. I’m doing what I can!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

