What A Wonderful Day

I’m sick with a stomach bug that’s been going around Stella’s office (she was spared). My toilet is stopped up (not uncommon in this old house; I’ve got it covered). And…

The news just announced a TORNADO WARNING heading not far from here! Yikes!

How does that old song go, proper grammar be damned? “If it warn’t fer bad luck, I wouldn’t have no luck at all…”

UPDATE: I’m on the very edge of the tornado box on the radar, but it’s not close to me yet. I should know within a few minutes… right now it’s utterly silent outside. Oops, here comes rain again; I’m headed for the closed-in bathroom…

UPDATE: The warning time has expired. It is not clear to me whether a tornado formed or not from the rotation pattern that led to the warning. From here, I never heard anything more than heavy rain and hard wind; there was no “roaring freight train” sound. Based on the map, if there was a funnel, it must have passed south of me. Whew!

NOTE: There is no truly safe place in this house. The hallways are connected to each other and to other rooms by doorways with no closing doors. The closets are crammed full of stuff. The bathrooms do close, and one is windowless, but both have roof air vents. I decided that was the best I could do. The cats promptly vanished at the first sound of thunder; I have to trust their instincts to save themselves.

AFTERWORD: Apparently, according to weather radar, there was indeed a tornado. As best I can tell, it did pass south of my location, moving west-to-east. I was very fortunate: the worst I suffered was a “barometer headache,” and I can live with that!

AFTER-AFTERWORD: Now we have a couple of hours of severe thunderstorm warning, with winds of up to 60mph. That won’t be good for the lawn chairs, but at least the house will be unaffected.

CORRECTION: Apparently the tornadoes that actually touched down (there were three) were northwest of Houston. That’s not close to me at all.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Wednesday January 25, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Damn! Hold on! Hide Down! Be Safe!

    • Steve  On Wednesday January 25, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks, MandT. Everything was fine right here, though people elsewhere in Houston were not all so lucky. I’m accustomed to the occasional tornado sighting inside the city, but this is the first one in a long while that has come close enough to scare the (BLEEP!) out of me.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

