That Old Racial Reverse Discrimination Claim Rears Its Ugly Head

… in South Carolina, where DoJ has halted implementation of a voter ID law which South Carolina’s own statistics show would have a discriminatory effect on nonwhite voters. Lawyers for South Carolina, including Christopher Coates (infamous for the New Black Panther Party case) and the utterly despicable Bradley Schlozman (reports of his humanity are greatly exaggerated), are claiming the DoJ is violating white people’s civil rights. Yeah, right… tell me another one.

I can’t believe I’m reading this in 2012. It sounds more like 1957. I am sure they understand full well, in South Carolina as in Texas, that the intent of the law is precisely what they say it is not: to prevent African Americans from voting.

I admit to a different bias myself: having seen Bradley Schlozman on TV several times during the Bush Junior administration, I believe he should be thrown in jail for his arrogant, condescending manner alone… [/snark]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Caliope  On Wednesday January 11, 2012 at 9:25 am

    I don’t think that there is a proper emoticon for my reaction to this post. I like it, but dislike it. I really hate republicans and their nauseating insistence that reverse racism is real and then refuse to see how they are being racist asshats.

    • Steve  On Wednesday January 11, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Welcome, Caliope! Your blog has an intriguing title.

      As to your reaction, my own is similarly ambivalent. I am old enough to have lived through the Civil Rights era (I was probably about your current age at the time of the major marches and demonstrations, not to mention assassinations), and as I age I find myself increasingly, well, intolerant of intolerance. And any attempt to “win” elections by preventing citizens from voting just enrages me.

    • Steve  On Wednesday January 11, 2012 at 9:46 am

      An afterthought: America used to have two major political parties, one mildly liberal and the other conservative. Both behaved rationally most of the time until the Nixon era. Today, America has one conservative major party (the Democratic Party) and one over-the-edge-nuts party (the Republican party). This is not healthy. Obama’s mistake is thinking that his attempts to move the nation toward the center, toward compromise, are a good idea. As Jim Hightower used to say, the only things in the middle of the road these days are skid marks and dead armadillos. There is no center, only a midpoint between slightly right-wing and very right-wing.

  • jams o donnell (Shaun Downey)  On Wednesday January 11, 2012 at 10:40 am

    We don’t have idiotic regulations here such as the one proposed by South Carolna but it is a huge worry that there are millions of Britons not on the electoral register. The big worry is that we don’t need “Neo Jim Crow” laws, people just disappear themsleves, especially young people

    • Steve  On Wednesday January 11, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      Shaun, I haven’t the foggiest idea what to do about young people. I can certainly understand their disillusionment with the political proces; I’ve had young people tell me point-blank that “it doesn’t make any difference if I vote.” Either we are losing a couple of generations of Americans and Britons, or else they’re right that it really doesn’t make any difference. I’m still unwilling to assume the hopelessness of voting, but if the GOP had its way, elections would mean as much here as they do in Russia.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

