Bunko V’America – Story #571428

If you read this site, I hardly need to tell you why I call it that. Foreclosure fraud and high executive bonuses paid for out of money from the federal government are just the tip of the iceberg. But as soon as I conceived of the pun, I knew I had to post it.

Tonight’s story involves nothing pernicious. Well, now, I’m not sure of that; I am just hoping…

Tonight I went online to pay a couple of bills and check my balance for coming expenses. I used Google Chrome for the last batch of bills I paid, so I expected no trouble using it this time.

BVA’s web site will save your account login username for you but not your password… a wise precaution in my opinion. But when I brought up Google Chrome and the BVA web site, my username looked funny. It was too short by 5 characters. I boldly entered my password and tried anyway. No go.

So I entered my full username manually, and my password (always manually), clicked the “save my username” checkbox and tried again. Success… I logged in and paid my bills. And logged out and tried logging in with the default for my username, which again looked too short. No go.

Surely I had found a bug in Google Chrome, right? The first time I used Chrome on BVA last week, when I manually entered the username, it worked fine. Surely Chrome was truncating the username when it saved it in a cookie. Right?

Nope.

How do I know? I tried the whole thing again with Firefox 8.0.x, from scratch. The site itself is truncating usernames. BVA has a bug in its online banking website. Doesn’t that just warm your heart and give you confidence?

I wonder what else is wrong…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • ellroon  On Monday December 19, 2011 at 12:57 am

    Anonymous is hacking it? Revenge of the 99%? The bank doesn’t want to do business online at the moment? We are so done with Bank of America, we’re shifting our credit card as soon as possible. This sounds like the last straw…

    • Steve  On Monday December 19, 2011 at 1:44 am

      ellroon, I want to move my money from BVA to Stella’s credit union. (I even used to work for her new employer back in the 1970s, so I have enough experience with them to trust them.) But I’ve banked at BVA for several dozen years, ever since they bought out Nationsbank, which bought out NCNB, which bought out a small S&L at which I kept my money from the time I could no longer stand to drive downtown to bank with Big Monster National Bank (where my parents had banked for years). After so long, changing banks is a big hassle for me. And I don’t have a lot of room for hassle in my life right now. Getting by, day to day, is hassle enough. Bank-changing on principle alone (no puns intended) is more than I can bear right now.

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Monday December 19, 2011 at 3:12 am

    Definitely doesn’t instill confidence!

    • Steve  On Monday December 19, 2011 at 8:47 am

      No it doesn’t, Mad. I’m not sure what I’ll do about it, but I am troubled by it.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

