Are Other WordPress.com Users Having Trouble With Embedded YouTube Videos?

I am unable to view YouTube videos on my own blog and other wordpress.com blogs. I can view the same videos on the YouTube site with no problems. My old “Yellow Something Something” blog, a Blogger blog, likewise displays YouTube videos with no apparent problems. The problems started day before yesterday, when Google introduced its new user interface for YouTube. I don’t know if the problem results from some persnickety copyright sweep or a plain and simple bug. So I’m going to post one of the three YouTube videos that I took myself and posted myself. There should be no copyright issues with this one; I hold the copyright myself… not that anyone but me will wish to post it. Here goes:


Let me know if you can see it or not. Thanks in advance for your help.

NO, I still can’t see it, my very own video. Something is truly screwed up. I also cannot see any videos on other wordpress.com blogs, such as Usyaka, and some Blogger blogs, such as The Poor Mouth. Any clues what’s going on?

UPDATE: I tested it in IE9 and FF8 on Stella’s Windows Vista machine. It is visible in both browsers on her machine. Something must be screwed up in some cookie on my computer, something having to do with Google privileges. I’m off to try to find out what it is.

UPDATE: Google says my account is in good standing. I logged out and in again; no change.

UPDATE: disabling AdBlock+ does not seem to help.

UPDATE: cookies for YouTube are inscrutable, but logging out and logging in should take care of bad ones, nicht wahr?

UPDATE: even WordPress’s YouTube support page videos will not show.

UPDATE: using the “Web Developer” feature of FF8, one can see that the GETs of each of the two YouTube videos on this page both succeed. In other words, the content does make it over into the browser. Beyond that, though, the FF8 WD reports lots and lots of parsing errors. Perhaps FF8 expects different params, or a different order of params, or maybe a closing bracket is missing somewhere in there, or maybe the Windows and Linux versions of the HTML engine behave differently. This is over my head, for sure.

UPDATE: thanks to Bryan’s having already dealt with this issue on Windows 7, I became aware that there’s an incompatibility between FF8 and Adobe Flash Player 11.1r102, which Firefox and/or Adobe have not resolved yet in Linux. Search YouTube for “Firefox 8 Linux Flash problem” if you want a lot more information. Nothing is ever simple…

UPDATE – A TEMPORARY SOLUTION: I’m tapping this into Chrome. It’s not yet my default browser, but I’ll give it a try. At least YouTube works in it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bryan  On Sunday December 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    It works in Chrome too, on my Win7 machine, and I was logged in at my WordPress account when I did it, so it isn’t related to being a WordPress.com user.

    My best guess is that Google did something that creates problems for Linux running Php. .

    • Steve  On Sunday December 11, 2011 at 8:12 pm

      Bryan, I finally gave up and posted the problem to WordPress.com support. Maybe they can figure it out. Both Google and WordPress (AutoMattic, whatever) have a history of deploying changes without testing thoroughly, so I’d believe it if you told me either one caused this problem. All I know at the moment is that there is good evidence that I did not cause it!

  • Bryan  On Sunday December 11, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    OK, I remember doing a Flash upgrade recently, and checking Google, this has happened before with Linux and YouTube, i;e; YouTube does something that requires a new Flash feature, but that feature hasn’t been added to the Linux version.

    Unfortunately, the best explanation of the problem is … wait for it … in a YouTube video!!! [Do people ever think these things out?]

    Check for a Flash plug-in update for FF8 for Linux.

    • Steve  On Sunday December 11, 2011 at 11:44 pm

      Bryan, thanks. I just searched YouTube for “Firefox 8 YouTube Linux” and got dozens of hits. I’ll just work my way through them until I discover if anyone has yet found a solution. I tried one guy’s workaround; it didn’t work at all for me. But I can watch YouTube videos on the YouTube site, so I’m not stranded or left to borrow a computer; I’ll just view a dozen or so videos… maybe someone will have a suggestion. Thanks again.

    • Steve  On Monday December 12, 2011 at 12:30 am

      BTW, Bryan, I can watch YouTube videos just fine on the YouTube site. I believe YouTube uses some object that is not based on Adobe Flash. Indeed, you can play YouTube videos on the YouTube site with your Flash player disabled altogether. Oops. I thought that was true, but evidently it’s not. But I can always watch YouTube videos on the YouTube site, even with the current Flash player.

      • Steve  On Monday December 12, 2011 at 1:01 am

        And now Chrome. I don’t know yet if it’s a keeper, but it was VERY quick to install, and YouTube works without hassle. I’m not quite ready to abandon Firefox yet, and I’ll always keep it installed for its developer tools. But it’s good to have an alternative.

  • L’Enfant de la Haute Mer  On Monday December 12, 2011 at 2:09 am

    everything is OK (on firefox)!

    • Steve  On Monday December 12, 2011 at 2:35 am

      Enfant, thanks. The problem seems to be specific to the Linux operating system (not Windows, not Mac), and to involve an unhealthy interaction between Firefox and the Adobe Flash player, which is the thing that allows a web browser to view a video. Windows and Mac users probably won’t have any trouble viewing videos on my site or any other site. Linux users are always last in line for software companies when they upgrade their software, and the feature Firefox needs isn’t available yet in Adobe Flash for Linux. Simple, no? NO, not for me, either!

      Switching to Google Chrome browser, at least temporarily, allows me to view YouTube videos with no problems. Adobe will fix its Linux version presently, and then I can choose between browsers.

      • Alex  On Wednesday December 14, 2011 at 9:17 am

        I had same issues at Mac Firefox 8.0.1 somedays. Some embedded youtube videos not work. Video at this page was not working(play button -> no reaction and black frame). Then I cleaned cookies all youtube cookies -> now youtube embedded videos play perfectly.

        • Steve  On Wednesday December 14, 2011 at 9:34 am

          Alex, welcome and thanks; I’ll try that. But I have to say, I’m getting accustomed to Chrome very quickly!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

