Dog Forgive Me For What I Am About To Do

In a few hours I’ll early-vote in Houston City Council runoff elections. In one at-large seat I’ll vote for someone I actually admire. In another at-large seat, I’ll vote for someone I actively dislike, a person who commits personal offenses with such frequency that it’s a wonder he/she is still in politics. But that person at least votes my side of many issues more often than her/his opponent probably would, so I’ll hold my nose and do it.

So much for my notion of never voting for the “lesser evil” again… at least this candidate is not really evil, just obnoxious.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • upyernoz  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    i don’t see how you could stick to your “no more lesser of two evils votes” pledge unless you stopped voting. politicians almost always suck. it’s their own personal suckiness that makes them want to go into politics. if they didn’t suck, they would have done something else with their life.

    • Steve  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      ‘noz, you’re right, of course. No good person and no sane person would go into politics in the first place. I uttered my not-so-solemn vow never to vote for the lesser of two evils about a year after I voted for Obama. Now that mistake I shall indeed not commit again… it’s not that I think there’s a viable alternative, or that a Republican wouldn’t be worse, but that I consider Obama to be a murderer for his successful targeted assassination of an American (yes, I know; the Bill of Rights applies to everyone), and I decline to vote for a murderer even if he is (wince) the lesser of two evils.

      (At his request, we pay our landlord rent with two separate checks, one from Stella and one from me. If the situation were reversed and we had two landlords, would we suffer the evil of two lessors?)

      • Steve  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 8:41 pm

        I have to qualify that first statement. NTodd is good and sane, AFAICT. And Vermont is like Neverland to me: never been there, never will.

  • jams o donnell  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Ach sometimes you have to suck it in. Better to have an arse than a scumbag if that is the only choice

    • Steve  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      jams, this person sits on City Council now, and has held office for either 2 or 4 years (I don’t remember which). From a policy standpoint, s/he is moderately progressive. But s/he has a gift for offending people, and the opponent (the well-scrubbed young Republican for whom I wouldn’t vote) and his fellows have pursued endless attempts at legal action against the incumbent, so far to no avail. Give me the progressive who may (or may not) have done something shady instead of the well-scrubbed young Republican who is, well, a well-scrubbed young Republican.

      I voted just as I described. There was no line at my polling place on this last day of early voting; runoffs suffer from that kind of neglect. So I figure my vote may be 10 percent of the total… nah. Wishful thinking!

  • karmanot  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    The lesser of two evils on the local level is a strategy. I’d vote for a middling Republican or Independent I know to be personally progressive than some of the Democrat tools, who just assume they’ll be elected because they live in a progressive area. For example, one of the leaders of the Progressive Caucus just lives one town over, and has never returned any e-mails or letters written to her regarding civil issues. I won’t vote for her again. I will not vote for Obama ever again and it the Mittens wins the primary, I seriously consider voting for him, simply because is ethically and intellectually bankrupt—-which I consider the lesser evil to Obama’s fascism. What a strange world these political times.

    • Steve  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 7:55 pm

      karmanot, I understand your feelings, but I hope you won’t vote for Mitt. He is singlehandedly responsible for the unemployment of thousands of people. Buying and eviscerating companies is an ugly thing to do to the people who work for them. Murder, like Obama? maybe not. But bad enough. I may no-vote the presidency for the first time in my voting lifetime.

  • karmanot  On Tuesday December 6, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    You’re right

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

