Happy T-Day!

Stella and I are meeting Catherine for dinner at Dimassi’s Mediterranean Buffet, where I at least will stuff myself mercilessly just as I did at Thanksgiving meals in my childhood. I doubt seriously I’ll be eating any turkey, especially not the one pictured… one thing I never cared for in my meat-eating days is meat’s tendency to be… um… stringy.

I hope all of you are with loved ones. Give thanks for relatives present, even the insufferable Tea Party uncle, and for those absent and blessedly far away. Give a thought to the soldiers, American and otherwise, especially those deployed reluctantly in truly senseless wars. Give thanks for the brave souls who #Occupy our institutions; they may yet save us from ourselves. Give thanks for Congress, and especially the Super Committee, who did not come to an agreement on a truly devastating evisceration of the social safety net as if it were a Thanksgiving turkey. Have extra helpings of stuffing and Social Security.

And give thanks for the Web. What would any of us do without it!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • ellroon  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Happy Tofu Day to you, Steve and Stella! I’m afraid I’m too much of a carnivore to not eat some of the poor turkey that’s ended up in our oven, but I will send my good thoughts and thanks to all those who fight our idiotic wars, fight our idiotic government, and fight trolls and idiots on the Web.

    And I’ll give thanks to good Web friends who rant and rail against the powers that be.

    • Steve  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      Thanks, ellroon, and a happy day to you, too! Tofu-day was yesterday for us; a nearby Chinese restaurant does wonderful things replacing chicken with tofu in select dishes, and I’ve never once gotten sick eating there.

      And yes, thanks for all who help us make it through the day and night. These are parlous times, but there is no shortage of strong and willing people to help us face them!

  • karmanot  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    And Thanks to you, Steve, an immensely good soul, with a quick and agile mind, who willingness of temper so match’s my own Scotts/Irish version in matters of justice, Since Joe Bageant died, my one solace these days is our communications and the battles of politics and culture. Plus, never far from that blessing is your lovely lady, to whom is sent the kindest regards. ( Also all kittahs who might be around ) peace, Michael

    • Steve  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      Michael, good soul yourself, if I don’t make it clear how much I need to find your comments on my threads, let me say it now: you are one of the Good Guys, with two capital G’s! Yes, I, too miss Joe Bageant, and I had only just found him before he died. I suppose we must be thankful for the time we have with the good people of the world, and not worry too much if there isn’t much of it.

      Stella thanks you, and returns promptly to her project rearranging all the bookcases in the house as she prepares to add a couple more cases next week. I think she feels I am mentally stimulated by the inevitable subsequent search for my various kinds of books, because she does this kind of thing about every two years (or less!).

  • Bryan  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Even though you have failed to remove a turkey from the planet, I still wish you and Stella a happy Thanksgiving, Steve.

    I hope you bought turkey for Lily and Esther. I know they are on diets, but it’s Thanksgiving 😉

    • Steve  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      Bryan, I forgot to ask Stella this year, but she usually treats the kitties on holidays. This year, the kitties in turn “assisted” Stella in re-shelving books and restringing extension cords for lights, and would have “helped” her with the miniature Christmas tree if she had allowed them. The tree is about 16″ tall, made of welded metal and free of decoration, so there’s not a lot of damage the girls can do to it.

      • Bryan  On Thursday November 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

        Give them time to think about it, Steve, because now it is a challenge. Nothing beats the fun of stringing lights along the roof line of a house ,,, with feline assistance.

        • Steve  On Friday November 25, 2011 at 1:17 pm

          Bryan, the ladies will have to do without that opportunity: we don’t “do” outdoor lighting in high places. If anything, Stella is more acrophobic than I am, and I have enough trouble climbing a ladder to change a light bulb on the ceiling. (The boot doesn’t make matters easier.) You are welcome to all the elevated light-stringing; just don’t allow the kitties to help you with the descent!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

