Problems With Email

Apologies for my frequent absence from the blog over the past day or so. My email service… a high quality commercial email service that does nothing but email, left over from my contracting days, not some random server provided by my ISP… had worked for almost literally years, but yesterday it stopped working. Thunderbird reported some obscure RFC on the error console, and other people had encountered it, but I was not led to a solution.

Finally I read my email using the commercial host’s custom webmail, which is not shabby, gave up and went to bed. This morning my email works…

… mostly. I still have problems when an email contains a web link, problems I did not have previously. Thunderbird “kindly” clears the paste buffer when it shuts down (aaaauuuugggghhhh! just how fucking stupid can a s/w developer be? or is it supposed to be a security measure), so if I want to visit a site mentioned in an email, and not wait forever due to the limited RAM in this old box, I have to copy the link, open gedit (that’s the “notepad” equivalent on Linux), paste the link in it, shut down Thunderbird, select and copy the link text again in gedit, open Firefox and paste in the link. I am not a happy camper with this situation. But there’s not a lot I can do. If I attempt to do things with a link directly in Thunderbird, my ‘net connection whirs forever. If I were running Windows, I’d suspect a virus. But those are really rare in Linux, and I am more inclined to suspect some combination of recent upgrades of Firefox and Thunderbird, and of course the tiny RAM on this old box.

Just before I awoke this morning, I dreamed my blog had been hacked. It was a great start to the day!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

