Sign Of The Times: IRS Much More Popular Than Congress

TPM’s Evan McMorris-Santoro has the chart. The IRS enjoys a 40 percent approval rating (or at least it did in 2009); Congress rates only 9 percent as of October 2011.

So… will Congress turn over in vast numbers in 2012? My bet is that it will not.

  • In the past, polls have shown (sorry; I don’t have a link) that while people consistently say bad things about Congress as a whole, they make an exception for their own member of Congress, who somehow is always the good guy/gal.
  • Second, we have a large bloc of Republicans who vote the straight party ticket in a way Democrats typically do not… although at present, in the presidential race, it is unclear who the bloc head is for whom they will vote.
  • Third, there are many more U.S. Senate Democrats than Republicans up for re-election in 2012 (21 Dems, 10 GOPers, 2 independents).
  • And finally, there is that most deplorable of all voter frauds, the one perpetrated by the GOP with the intention of eviscerating the vote of likely Democratic voters, the one known inaccurately as “Voter ID.”

All of those taken together could well cause the 2012 elections to leave Congress about as popular as it is today… or worse.

It’s “democracy” at work… oh, joy! [/snark]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • upyernoz  On Thursday November 17, 2011 at 10:08 am

    woo-hoo! us lawyers are three times as popular as congress!!!

    (also, more people want the u.s. to go communist than like congress? holy shit!)

    • Steve  On Thursday November 17, 2011 at 11:25 am

      It was an eye-opening chart, wasn’t it, ‘noz!

      Lawyers have always been popular with me; I’m just weird that way. When I ended up on the jury rolls twice (because my DL has my middle name and my voter reg has my middle initial), I made no effort to change it, because it resulted in twice as many jury summonses, i.e., twice as many opportunities to see lawyers in action while taking a day off work for free. Only two cases ever extended to multiple days, and even those were worth seeing.

      In addition, my best buddy from my musicking days is now an attorney, as was a lady I loved dearly once long ago. Also, an attorney who has done work for the local ACLU and Amnesty International chapters is one of the most admirable people I’ve ever met. Yes, I like lawyers. Maybe I should’ve been one.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

