I Am Furious: (NOT) Yellow

After a couple of months of smooth sailing on WordPress, I have finally found a problem I cannot solve: my background color has disappeared. This is true when viewed in Firefox 7.0.1 and in the nefarious IE 9.0, so it’s not browser-specific. It fails whether I set a background color using #rrggbb or instead use a background image that has my desired background color.

A quick look at page source reveals that WordPress has gone from using BODY BACKGROUND=”background-color” to using explicit code to set some properties deep in the DOM (Document Object Model) which one might expect to do the same thing. But they don’t, in either of the two most popular browsers on the market. This is clearly the result of inadequate testing by WordPress staff.

I DE-TEST inadequate testing. 😛

And there seems to be no straightforward, quick way to report a problem. I suppose I’ll just have to wait until they notice it. There is one similar complaint pending from a registered user, so there is hope.

UPDATE: I no longer “wonder where the yellow went” (now there’s a generation-dependent phrase!)… the yellow has returned.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jams o donnell  On Wednesday November 16, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    I see a yellow background Steve. I think I am on version 8 for Mac

    • Steve  On Wednesday November 16, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      jams, the yellow has returned on my browser, too. It was gone for an hour or two… clearly a WordPress problem.

  • L’Enfant de la Haute Mer  On Thursday November 17, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Steve,

    we had the same problem over here, and my background picture disappeared as well.
    Here is a mail to report problems:
    support@wordpress.com

    We have been widely using it ten months ago,
    when WP was completely down, everywhere in the world, for more than twenty hours.
    Recovery was very slow, continent by continent, till they reached the 100% in 48 or so hours.

    … and I am on WP since the beginning of 2007!

    • Steve  On Thursday November 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

      Enfant, that’s ironic: I moved from Blogger to WordPress when Blogger was down for more than a day, an unprecedented failure. Blogger was a disappointment in many other ways. I’m happy to be on WordPress now, occasional slight “glitches” notwithstanding.

      Even before I was on Blogger, I had a blog that I maintained manually, not using any blogging software, since at least 2000. Now THAT was a trip! I would have continued, but the one non-manual part of it was the old HaloScan commenting system, which was literally sold out from under me to the JS-Kit people. So here I am on WordPress, after two moves.

  • upyernoz  On Thursday November 17, 2011 at 9:06 am

    your blog is yellow now, but when i checked in yesterday at one point i did notice that the background was different.

    i didn’t think too much about it though. i just figured that first you took out the “democrat” from the blog, maybe yellow was next to go (but doggerel is forever!)

    • Steve  On Thursday November 17, 2011 at 11:40 am

      ‘noz, the original name of the blog was clever, if I do say so myself… though I’m always surprised to encounter people who never heard the phrase “yellow-dog Democrat.” The current name is just stupid; I wish I could find something better… but after Obama caused Florida to stiff Florida Democrats in the primary, I gave up “Democrat” as part of the name. By now, considering all Obama’s human rights and civil liberties violations, with Congress aiding and abetting him, I know I won’t return to the Democratic Party, absent truly major changes that I do not anticipate. Oh well; political life’s a bitch, and then you die…

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

