Memory

No, not a song by Grizabella the Glamour Cat… memory, as in RAM on this computer. This box is so old that it was shipped with only ½ GB of RAM. I don’t know if it’s even upgradeable. It didn’t make much difference until I upgraded to Ubuntu Linux 10.10 and Firefox 7.0.1; now, I constantly hear the sound of one disk swapping…

Maybe, now that I’m committed to Linux, I can search the garage again for a slightly newer old box with more memory.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • karmanot  On Saturday November 5, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    “slightly newer old box with more memory.” my current wish in another context! 🙂

    • Steve  On Saturday November 5, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      karmanot, presuming we’re talking about computers 🙂 … As a self-employed IT professional, I got to/had to upgrade my computer every 2 to 3 years, with upgrades to software as appropriate. The rule of thumb was this: my computer had to be at least comparable to the typical computer among professional staff at my current client, and my software had to be effectively identical to theirs. It was neither easy nor cheap, but it was part of the cost of doing business.

      I rarely got rid of any of those computers. They usually contained data from clients for my use to test the s/w I was developing for them; yes, of course I deleted that data when I retired the computer, but I’ve always been afraid that someone with, um, skills could resurrect such data. So I insisted on keeping the hard drives. Usually it was easier (given storage space) just to keep the whole box. I believe I have three or four in the garage at the moment. Pretty silly, huh!

  • Bryan  On Sunday November 6, 2011 at 12:09 am

    If they hadn’t changed the plug for the power supply on the newer boards, you could just do a ‘brain transplant’ and put in a new motherboard, but alas, now you would need a new box.

    • Steve  On Sunday November 6, 2011 at 10:10 am

      Bryan, this box is not worth investing a great deal of time or money in. It has served me well, as a Windows box in the old days and as a Linux box now, but while I have done enough simple hardware maintenance on my own machines in bygone days just to avoid having to pay someone to do it, it’s not one of my pleasures. Eventually I’ll probably look into buying one of Dell’s inexpensive laptops that come preloaded with Ubuntu Linux. But being who I am, I’ll probably put that off for a while.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

