I Am Part Of The 11 Percent

… also the 99 percent of nonwealthy Americans, the 47 percent of Americans who for one reason or another (in my case, lack of income) pay no income taxes, and my concern of the moment, the 11 percent described in this WaPo article:

The use of antidepressants soared in the United States in recent decades with the development of Prozac and other similar drugs. But just how commonly are they used? Very commonly, it turns out, according to the latest federal data.

More than one out of every 10 Americans over the age of 12 — 11 percent — takes an antidepressant, according to a new analysis from federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Center for Health Statistics.

Antidepressants are the third most-commonly prescribed drug among Americans of all ages, and the most frequently used by Americans ages 18 to 44.

I really feel sorry for the 12-year-olds. It’s hard enough for a reasonably stable adult to cope with depression.

I started taking an over-the-counter mood elevation herbal remedy (specifically, St. John’s Wort) on about Jan. 20, 2001. I (ahem) dubbed the med my
“anti-de-president”.

Yes, damn it, I am still taking an antidepressant. The original herb did not work out, despite being very effective, because it had a known side-effect: some users (I was one) experienced extreme light sensitivity sometimes to the point of my being temporarily sunblind for a few minutes. So I asked my doc to help me out, and he did. It’s an older med, available in generic, very subtle in its effect (unlike, say, Prozac).

So if you’re going to invest in pharmaceuticals, now you know what to pick. I’m not advising you to invest in anything, mind you; unless you are wealthy, chances are good that any investing you do will just leave you feeling depressed…

(H/T ghostof911 in the comment thread on this FDL post.):

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

