GOP Bill: OK For Anti-Choice Hospitals To Let Women Die Of Pregnancy Complications

… rather than perform an abortion contrary to their religious beliefs.

I believe there used to be an oath doctors took, and I think that letting patients die when they can be not only saved but made whole is contrary to that oath. Then again, maybe the GOP and Catholics have a different outlook on the oaths they take…

From ellroon, here are the particulars of the bill, H.R. 358, when it was introduced in January. You can also look it up on Thomas by typing “H.R. 358” in their site search box. And finally, here is Nancy Pelosi’s comment today to reporters:

Speaking to reporters on Thursday, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) called the Protect Life Act “appalling.” The bill would ban federal funding for abortions and bar women from using tax subsidies from the health care reform law to buy insurance that covers abortions with the exception of cases of rape, incest, or the health of the mother.

“Under this bill, when the Republicans vote for this bill today, they will be voting to say that women can die on the floor of health care providers,” Pelosi said. “I can’t even describe to you the logic of what they are doing today.”

Enough said. This is meat tossed to the GOP’s hungry base, but I think they may have a response from Democratic voters as well.

I know it’s wrong of me to feel this way, but sometimes I hope for a few congressional postpartum abortions…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Thursday October 13, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    There is no equivocating. Period. Letting women die is MURDER. This escalating war against women is beyond outrageous and demands large scale public reaction. Hospitals that allow these death panel solutions must and should be OCCUPIED, if not closed down.

    • Steve  On Thursday October 13, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      MandT, I’m afraid occupying or shutting down a health care institution would have moral ramifications of its own. I wouldn’t mind seeing a few administrators sentenced to short jail terms for this shit, and then, if they continued endangering women’s lives, give them longer jjail terms.

      Early in my contracting career I did some software for the local Planned Parenthood, and I can tell you unequivocally that the anti-choice crew, especially the activists, are nutso beyond all reason.

  • MandT  On Thursday October 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I know, I’m just angry. The 24hr Nurses strike here in CA recently, was accomplished without major harm.

    • Steve  On Thursday October 13, 2011 at 11:06 pm

      No problem, MandT; I’m pretty angry myself… consider the last sentence of my blog post. We are entitled to a certain amount of anger in response to so much hostile misogyny.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

