Cool!

Not to contradict the late great Sir Fred Hoyle, but October 1 is emphatically not too late. It’s finally Fall in Houston. The thermometer on the taskbar says 79°F, but I just spent a couple of hours out back on the patio, reading a Kinky Friedman novel, sipping something cold (and a good deal less, um, stimulating than the stuff Kinky typically sips), losing myself in the glorious weather, and I’m prepared to testify that it’s NOT as warm as 79°F. From where I sit, it’s cool!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jams o donnell  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Ah Steve everyone who reads one of the Kinkster’s books IS cool!

    • Steve  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      jams, I don’t think I’ve ever voted for the man when he’s run for office, and I wouldn’t be able to stand being in a room with him while he smokes cigars, but I admire his animal rescue work… and I dearly love his “detective” novels. He does have a way with words! (I don’t tend to think of him as a songwriter, but then again, he did write “I’m proud to be an asshole from El Paso” …)

      • jams o donnell  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 1:55 pm

        And Homo Erectus! I love his books and music. As Governor he couldn’t have been worse that Prick Perry?

        • Steve  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 10:23 pm

          jams, you’re right, he couldn’t have… nobody is worse than Rick Perry, who is dumber than a load of bricks and meaner than a junkyard dog… but back then I was a loyal Democrat and they were running a local fellow, Chris Bell, whom I liked. Now that I think about it, Kinky did run for something later as a Democrat, and I voted straight ‘D’ for a couple of years, so I may well have voted for him after all.

          BTW, late in this book (“Blast from the Past”) he attributes “Asshole” to another songwriter, who appears in the book as Chinga. I thought it was Kinky’s own.

          • jams o donnell  On Sunday October 2, 2011 at 3:08 pm

            Still he has a great catalogue of own compositions. I still find Get Your Biscuits funny.. and then we have Ole Ben Lucas! As for covers I love his version of The Ballad of Ira Hayes. Far better than Johnny Cash’s version

  • jams o donnell  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    79F? I was hotter in Romford today. Strange to have such an intense Indian Summer here on the eastern edge of London

    • Steve  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      jams, in mid-afternoon, it’s still only 81°F … Fall has truly arrived in Houston.

  • MandT  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Ahhhhhhhh! Cool……

  • NTodd Pritsky  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    It’s 40F here. I love heating and flannel weather!

    • Steve  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 10:26 pm

      NTodd, I’d say you’ll envy me in the depths of winter, but you’re accustomed to what Vermont has to offer, and I’m sure you like it just fine. Even before I was a cripple, I had trouble getting around in snow when I visited in the North; I know I couldn’t make it there now, on a cane, a walker or in a wheelchair. Sigh.

  • Bryan  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    We got up to the mid 70s today, but it will be in the mid to upper 40s tonight.

    Unplug the AC and plug in the heater, but it’s a great time to do outside work and ride the bike.

    • Steve  On Saturday October 1, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      Bryan, this in-between weather will probably cause domestic distress, because Stella likes the place frickin’ freezing, and I’m tired of the $300/mo electric bills. No matter; I know who will win that battle… 🙂

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

