Obama Prepares To Give Away Store Again

According to Reuters, President Obama, concerned that our federal government is still conveying some advantages to ordinary poor and middle-class taxpayers rather than slavishly serving the über-wealthy in every way, is scheduled today to announce to the congressional “super committee” changes that would trade some aspects of Medicare away in exchange for higher taxes on the very wealthy. According to preliminary reports, the presidential giveaway does not initially include raising the Medicare starting age from 65 to 67; one may reasonably assume he will give that away in the first week of negotiations with Republicans. Republicans in turn have announced that any plan for higher taxes on people whose income is $1 million or more a year is dead on arrival.

It is really too bad that Obama’s mother is no longer living. She could have sat him down in front of her to get his attention and asked him, “What in the world are you thinking, son? Do you really hate me that much?” As far as I can tell, there is no one living today that Obama would listen to as he contemplates these evil “negotiations.” Certainly he doesn’t give a good damn what his base thinks. Some of us will remember that in November 2012.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Carlos  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    I have to totally agree, every time President Obama negotiates he offers up something that shouldn’t even be on the table at the final round and then soon caves on that and let’s the other side have 98% and they even brag about it afterwards. I used to dread every time George W. was going to be on TV and now I’m starting to get the same feelings about Obama. He will promise something that isn’t liberal enough and then not follow through on that even. Yes we will remember in Nov. 2012 and since it doesn’t matter who we vote for in our states, Texas and Idaho, we should write in someone but if I lived in a state that should carry the Democrat vote and the only choice is say, Rick Perry a known loony right wing nut Conservative I might have to vote Obama anyway for safety sake. What we need is a really good candidate to primary Obama. Keep up the good work there Steve.

    • Steve  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      Carlos, I agree with you wholeheartedly. What is wrong with that man? Stella (the lady in my life) says he’s just a closet Republican, and I am beginning to believe it’s true. If so, he’s pulled off one of the greatest coups of all time; if not, he’s far less bright and clever than he appears in his speeches.

      As to voting for him for safety’s sake, I’m 63 years old, and I’ve had it with voting for the lesser of two evils. The lesser of two evils is still evil. Obama projects that he will have a billion dollars in contributions for his campaign; I doubt the GOP will top that, even after Citizens United, and I think we can depend on him to win even without our support. The only reason it matters is possible Supreme Court nominations, and I’m not sure even that weighs enough to make me vote for him. Think of it, Carlos… Obama has put out targeted assassinations against American citizens with no due process of any sort. How can a civil liberties guy like me vote for that?

  • MandT  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    The coup is already accomplished and has been in full force since Clinton’s second term. The only difference between Obama and the Republicans is the concept of gradualism.

    • Steve  On Tuesday September 20, 2011 at 9:15 am

      MandT, there’s no doubt about it… the country as a whole has moved to the right for the past 30 years or so, driven largely by ginned-up fear of terrorists (and of course scary gay people).

      Is the coup complete? I don’t know. I’ve been reading about the Federal Convention in Philadelphia at which the Constitution was framed in 1787; it’s a miracle we’ve gotten this far without a fascist takeover. In that era, “democracy” was almost a dirty word, a concept supported by very few of our founders, and only in a limited sense.

      I’m still looking around for a way we can rectify the situation today, but so far, all I see in our government is more inclination to fascism by members of both parties.

  • Bryan  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Zero’s supporters think that liberals should back him because he didn’t give away as much as they had feared. Screw that. I don’t vote for Republicans, and Zero is a Republican. The Greens will have someone running, and I can live with that.

    If someone is trying to convince me that the Republican candidate is worse, they are going to have to prove it, because Zero has passed their wish list, even with a Democratic Congress, something McCain couldn’t have done.

    • Steve  On Tuesday September 20, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Bryan, Zero isn’t even a moderate Republican, let alone a liberal; Dwight Eisenhower was more moderate than Barack Obama. But O had a great marketing machine in the 2008 election. If money can win an election (and today it almost goes without saying that it can), Obama will be re-elected.

      I don’t yet know who gets my vote next year… only that it won’t be Obama and it won’t be any Republican. Am I “wasting” my vote? If a vote for Obama vs. a vote for the GOPer is a distinction without a difference, why shouldn’t I “waste” it? I’m tired of the lesser-evil bullshit: the lesser evil is still evil.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

