Rain!

Ah, at long last… rain. Not much rain, but rain. At Our House yesterday we had one intense downpour for about five minutes, with all the attendant noise, wind and thunder, then nothing for a couple hours, and finally a steady rain for about 20 minutes. The dying lawn was even more grateful than I am. More is forecast today and tomorrow. Rain affects one’s frame of mind as well; somehow, I’m not as overwrought and twitchy as I was before. I didn’t count how many weeks we went without, but I believe it was a couple of months. Let’s hope the two brief showers presage a change.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • ellroon  On Sunday September 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Wonderful. I know the feeling, having been through dead lawns, water restrictions, and droughts before. I am amused at myself for a funny quirk: when travelling and it rains, it doesn’t count. Apparently rain at home is the only one that breaks the drought, fills the water basins, gives everything a bath, and resets the clock.

    May you have more needed gentle rains this winter.

    • Steve  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 10:03 am

      Thanks, ellroon! We got a bit more rain last night; indeed, “I woke last night to the sound of thunder…”

  • fallenmonk  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Off topic….I’m such an idiot! I’ve been wondering why you haven’t been active and just realized that I was pointing to blogger still…duh!….sorry! All fixed.

    • Steve  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 10:05 am

      No need for you to apologize, fallenmonk; I’m the one who changed blog locations twice in two years… both times for good reason, but still, it’s hard to keep track of me.

      BTW, thanks for your tolerance of my obscenity-laden rants at you-know-who. He’s beginning to get on my nerves.

      • fallenmonk  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 10:52 am

        Mine too, but I have a hard time justifying banning him. I imagine he gets quite a bit of fun out of his jibes and trying to get our goats. I just ignore him for the most part.

        • Steve  On Monday September 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm

          fallenmonk, he’s capable of worse; just look at the stuff he dumps on Bryan’s threads. Any time he “documents” his “facts,” look up the source… you’ll find, every single time, that he has quoted someone who is on one or another corporate payroll to say whatever the corp wants said. I’m not asking you to ban him. Just don’t ban me for all the profanities I use in his direction!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

