A Wasted Day

I woke up an hour late. Reaching for a new bottle of one of my meds to put it in the medicine cabinet, I realized it felt… light. No wonder: despite the “30” on the label, it had only 16 tablets in it. So that required another trip to Target to pick up the rest… the gasoline to get there pretty much wiped out any savings of the cheaper pharmacy. The trip was in the hellish heat of the day; when I got home, I was pooped. At home, I found that Stella had come home after only a few hours’ work because she felt ill… you have no idea how rare it is for Stella to miss work. And so on, and so forth; it was that kind of day.

The only redeeming activity of the day was my beginning to read another of Blaize Clement’s “Dixie Hemingway, pet sitter” series of mysteries, which I checked out of our newly reopened corner library (hurray!). Floridians will probably enjoy her books, which are set in Siesta Key and Sarasota, with lots of local color and plenty of violence and sexual tension (in the three I’ve read, there’s very little resolution, but plenty of tension).

Perhaps I’ll have something to offer tomorrow…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Monday September 12, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I loved the Keys back in the day, when Key West was filled with conchs, rickety houses, sailors, hustlers, dead-end drifters of all classes and smugglers. Then the Truman Annex was sold and soft, wealthy white folks moved in, complained about the Cuban food, nasty lack of beaches and jellyfish. One of the great mysteries was Key Largo. Hope both of you eel better, take care.

    • Steve  On Tuesday September 13, 2011 at 9:04 am

      MandT, I’ve never been to any of the Keys, but I got a distinct impression from Clement’s series of books: it’s a nice place to live, but I wouldn’t want to visit there. It’s hardly fair of me to judge a place from a series of novels. Part of it is that I am no longer much of a beach or sea person. Still, Clement writes beautiful descriptions of the place.

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Tuesday September 13, 2011 at 1:15 am

    I hope you both feel better soon!

    Thanks for stopping by with birthday wishes!

    • Steve  On Tuesday September 13, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Thanks, Mad. Stella went to work today; I hope that means she’s feeling better. I slept really late again this morning, but the air is bad today, and I still feel yucky. This too shall pass…

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

