Hurricane Irene

My thoughts are with all of you who are in the path. I’ve been through three hurricanes in Houston; fortunately, I do not live in a low-lying area and was not vulnerable to potentially deadly storm surge. But if I were ordered to get out, believe me, I would get out, and if you are one of those in Irene’s path who have been ordered to evacuate, don’t dither, don’t quibble, just pack up the basics and get the fuck out. Wherever you are, stay safe!

UPDATE:
here is a bit of gallows storm-surge humor. One has the feeling this was done by someone who has never experienced a bad hurricane.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bryan  On Saturday August 27, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Bad hurricane, how about a slow moving tropical depression or storm. Bloody Georges has already made the grand entrance and then spent 5 days moving along the Alabama-Florida border north of me dumping 48 inches of rain.

    Fortunately we have sand instead of real dirt or we would have been up to our necks in water.

    I wish them luck, because too many of them don’t understand what is about to happen, and it won’t be fun.

    • Steve  On Sunday August 28, 2011 at 8:58 am

      Bryan, the weather is crazy all over. We’re having daytime temperatures of, e.g., 108°F and (yesterday a record-tying) 109°F. In Texas, temp’s like that happen only in Dallas and far West Texas, not Houston. Stella is utterly uncompromising about air conditioning; I don’t want to think what the electric bill will be this month. We’ve had no serious rain for several weeks, except for one very brief freak storm which knocked over the ancient wooden fence in our back yard. We live in interesting times…

      I’m off to seek more news, possibly (shudder) from the TV. I hope blogmother Mad Kane is OK; IIRC, she lives in Queens.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

