What Obama Really Wants

Via MandT, we learn what Obama really wants and intends, from the estimable James K. Galbraith. Galbraith notes that even Europe is losing its taste for the real Obama:

Political news travels slowly, and in my casual observation progressive Europeans have held on to the myth of Barack Obama as a good man much longer than most progressive Americans did. How could a young black American from Chicago and Harvard be otherwise?

Over here reality has been evident for a while, thanks to the President’s pattern of giving way to banks, lobbies, Republicans and right-wing extremists. Whether your prime interest is housing, health care, peace, justice, jobs or climate change, if you are an activist in America you have known for a long time that this President is not your friend.

I believe it was Alan Grayson who said that what Obama offers is not FDR’s New Deal but rather a new, Raw Deal. Galbraith calls it a Bad Deal. The truth of those assessments is becoming more obvious daily. Thanks to Obama’s collusion with Republicans, our economy is being undermined in ways that may take decades to repair. A lot of us don’t have decades left in us: for us, it’s now or never. But I do not believe Obama gives a good damn about Americans with needs; by his actions today, he is assuring that his own post-presidential nest, whether in 2012 or 2016, is well feathered. I anticipate his quick rush leftward just before the 2012 election; do not be deceived by his attempt to pander to his one-time base. You have seen and are seeing the real Barack Obama right now… remember well what you have seen when you enter the voting booth next year.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • NTodd Pritsky  On Friday August 12, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Well, at least I learned a lot campaigning for him…

    • Steve  On Friday August 12, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      … and NTodd, I am certain you’re learning a lot now living through his presidency.

      Man, I voted for the guy myself. During the campaign, he was sliced bread… and not white-bread, either. That must have been a role well-played; I don’t think that that Barack Obama really exists. I don’t even know how much he deceived me and how much I deceived myself in desperation for someone to give me any small amount of hope. But it was, as I’ve said many times, “the oh-dash-it-all of hope,” not the real thing.

      Long ago I took a vow never to vote for a Republican, however great the temptation. (I am no longer a party-line Democrat, either, but that’s a different set of motives at work.) But in accordance with that vow, I shall not vote for Barack Obama in 2012. Some compromises cannot be justified, and ever since it was revealed that Obama put out a hit contract on an American citizen without so much as a warrant for his arrest, I cannot justify the compromise that voting for him would mean. Broadly speaking, the Bill of Rights is beyond compromise for me.

  • NTodd Pritsky  On Friday August 12, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Ah, so you admit that you’re unwilling to compromise, JUST LIKE THE TEA BAGGERS!

    • Steve  On Friday August 12, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      NTodd, that’s why the people who hang out on the threads at TPM call people like me “Firebaggers.” Meh. Whatever.

      Obama engages in pre-compromise so often I wonder how he remembers what part of the store he’s already given away and what part is still available to… to trade? I wish! To be given away for no gain.

  • MandT  On Saturday August 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Steve. check this out: http://www.ianwelsh.net/socially-how-the-next-20-odd-years-will-play-out

    • Steve  On Saturday August 13, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      MandT, Ian Welsh is a consistently good writer. His notion that our government is criminalizing every damned thing, including things that used to be thought of in lists of our freedoms, is right on target, and has concerned me a lot lately. I’ve been reading a book about the original Constitutional Convention and mentally comparing the destructive actions of the several states against each other to today’s actions of the federal government to the detriment of fundamental liberties. At some point, after I’ve read a bit more about the convention, I hope to write a post about it. Suffice it to say that the kind of fear that today’s Republicans… and to some extent Democrats… deliberately stir up within the citizenry for their own political advantage is not unlike the kind of mistrust prevalent among the several states prior to the adoption of the Constitution. I hope we are not in the process of taking a giant political step backward, right in the middle of a giant economic step backward.

  • MandT  On Saturday August 13, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    What concern’s me now is how those 55 million of us on Social Security and Medicare survive. I was actually thinking of emigration this week and realized that there is no there there anymore. It must be getting to me, I actually let that little weasel Duff get to me and called him a dip shit somewhere. Not a good sign. lol in an ironic way!

    • Steve  On Sunday August 14, 2011 at 10:22 pm

      MandT, I, too, have considered emigration, but at present I see no other nation that is any better for its citizens, and many that really do not appreciate foreign residents at all. Apart from English, my language skills are limited; I speak a very tiny amount of German. I know one American who lives most of the time in Japan and another who lives almost entirely in Netherlands; I don’t think I could manage to change to another culture and language this late in life.

      As to SocSec, yes, that scares hell out of me, too. You and I paid into it all our working lives, and the notion of having it taken away so that Obama’s wealthy “sponsors” can pay even less in taxes than they already do is enough to make me want to pick up a shovel and/or a pitchfork and head out with violence in my heart… but my physical limitations, even more than any moral sense I may possess, constrain me from doing so. Damn them to rot in early graves if they steal our retirement funds!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

