Senate Passes The Damned Thing

a short time ago. Obama will surely sign it. We as a nation will avoid default. And we as a nation will be damned to live with the damned thing.

I’ve been reading a review in the May issue of Harper’s (thanks, BB!) about a new edition of Mark Twain’s autobiography. From all the quotations in the review, I can tell that if Twain had magically lived another century to witness this, he would have understood all its implications, every phenomenon blatant or nuanced, in terms of his own era. That’s how much we have advanced in human terms in the past century: not at all. All hail the march of progress!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Tuesday August 2, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Can we still write-off that $300.00 bottle of Merlot?

    • Steve  On Tuesday August 2, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      MandT – 😈

      I’m lucky if I have a bottle of Merlot that costs $5.99 …. more typically, it’s a six-pack of Big Flats beer that sells for $2.99!

      But yes, I’m sure Paul Ryan and his “guests” can still write off their pricey grape juice…

  • MandT  On Tuesday August 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Did you know that two buck Chuck’s red at Trader Joes is now four bucks?

    • Steve  On Tuesday August 2, 2011 at 9:56 pm

      MandT, I live in Texas. Two-buck Chuck was never available to me. One of the most pernicious aspects of the end of Prohibition was that it allowed individual states each to have their own liquor laws; indeed, even individual incorporated cities can go “dry” if they so vote. E.g., in Houston, the Heights is a dry neighborhood because it was once long ago a separate incorporated city, now long since surrounded by, and legally and culturally a part of, Houston. I don’t live in the Heights; I can buy liquor without driving far away. But there is no cross-licensing that would allow an ordinary grocery store to sell (Two/Four)-Buck Chuck, and no licensed liquor store carries it because there’s not enough profit in it. IOW, I have never tasted Chuck. (Sigh!)

      I just paid 2/$10 for two bottles of Liberty Creek merlot, whatever the hell that is. I’ve had it before, and I didn’t die from drinking it. But that’s about my budget for wine these days.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

