Keith Olbermann’s Ultimate Statement

We are being invited to undertake a much-needed nonviolent revolution, one which, if it does not replace our government, nonetheless makes nonnegotiable demands of the government we have. Is it possible?

Considering what we have seen in the past few days, we’d better hope it’s possible, because, damn it, it is necessary.

What will happen if we defy the powers-that-be? That’s the wrong question: What will happen if we do not defy them?

(Wipes brow.) Excuse me. I need another beer…

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • NTodd Pritsky  On Tuesday August 2, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Too much work.

    • Steve  On Tuesday August 2, 2011 at 11:59 pm

      Long time no see, my friend.

      “Too much work.”

      You got a better idea? Since last we chatted, I’ve become a cripple with permanent disabilities and serious medical conditions… and I’m not ready to say it’s too much work. Or am I misunderstanding you?

  • Bryan  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    He’s being sarcastic, Steve, because he has been doing this in Vermont and through Code Pink for a very long time, and is still doing it.

    Remember pure latex balloons are biodegradable, but torches and tar aren’t.

    • Steve  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Bryan, I know. When it comes to civil disobedience, NTodd is as real as it gets. Unlike me, he lives what he preaches.

      I suppose I’m a little sensitive about my physical inability to do that sort of stuff. In my current condition, a trip to jail is very possibly a trip to the grave, and I’m not quite ready to face that yet.

      Well, that, and I’m cranky as hell that the “inevitable consequences” are in actual fact no longer avoidable…

  • moiisinthehouse  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    My husband has his Vietnam Protest Boots out. He’s ready to go. So when is all this stuff happenin’?

    It’s not scheduled already? Come on, what’s the holdup?

    Ahem….. 😉

    • Steve  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 10:56 pm

      Welcome to my humble site, Moi 😉 The best clearinghouse I’ve found so far… yes, the whole thing is rather new… is over at Firedoglake, not so much for the specific posts on the site (though those are useful too) as for the members and other commenters, who are founts of information of the sort you seek. As for me, I know some people in Houston that I plan to call who will certainly know what’s going down. Yes, never fear, there are things in the works; I’m just not completely connected with them yet.

    • Steve  On Friday August 5, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      Later… Moi, please see downstream a couple of posts. MoveOn in Houston has a protest scheduled for Wed. Aug. 10, 11:30AM, at a location rather too far for this cripple to drive. MoveOn is a national org; I’m sure they’ll have one in your area as well.

  • NTodd Pritsky  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Steve – you’re a good egg, and I’m sorry you’re feeling sensitive about your situation (and sorry for the situ, too). All we can do is what we can. Unless you’re an asshole or a Republican, but I repeat myself.

    • Steve  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 10:43 pm

      NTodd – thanks… you’re clearly a fellow Mark Twain fan, by the “but I repeat myself” meme.

      I’ve been crippled for about two years now, one in a wheelchair and the next on an assortment of walkers and now, at least some of the time, on a simple quad cane and wearing a humongous special orthotic boot, so in one sense things are improving. But I can only walk, say, half the length of a grocery store. I used to be out there, not quite as much as you, but many a day would find me in the Mecom Fountain traffic circle on Main St., or on the corner of Kirby & Westheimer (another big, busy intersection here), carrying anti-death-penalty protest signs, or downtown for one or another anti-Iraq-war protest, or in Hermann Park for the same, or staring down Freepers across a street on the issue of Iraq, or etc. etc.

      IOW, I was never as committed as you are, but dammit, I was out there… and now I cannot be. Damn, that’s frustrating!

    • Steve  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      BTW, NTodd, did I ever send you my doggerel “Ode Pink,” dedicated to our local Code Pink in Houston, with whom I often stood in antiwar demos back in the mid-Oughties? I’ll try to dig it out…

      • NTodd Pritsky  On Thursday August 4, 2011 at 7:31 pm

        NO! Please send! 🙂

        • Steve  On Thursday August 4, 2011 at 10:31 pm

          NTodd – it’s on its way to your GMail account. If you don’t see it in a day or so, please let me know.

  • MandT  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    “I suppose I’m a little sensitive about my physical inability” Hell dude, I’ll teach ya walker guerrillahood as handed down by grandmother. We’ll start with pepper spray canisters on each roller and man the line together. 🙂

    • Steve  On Wednesday August 3, 2011 at 11:00 pm

      MandT, thank you; I shall gratefully accept any suggestions you have! 🙂 Whatever else being crippled may bring, it does give one a certain street cred when protesting on behalf of the halt and the lame… that is, it does so IF one can manage to navigate the street!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

