Eleven Years, Ten Years, This Year

Almost eleven years ago, on 12/12/2000, the Supreme Court installed Mr. Bush in the White House by a chain of reasoning only a radical “conservative” could love. I was not happy. I walked about six blocks (back when I was able to do that) to my good friend Paul’s house (back when he lived less than a couple thousand miles from me). I asserted… Paul wasn’t so sure… that as a nation we had just taken the first big step onto a slippery slope.

A year after that, almost 10 years ago, on 9/11/2001… well, I hardly need to tell you about that date. But it was also the date of another big step toward our nation’s de facto oligarchy, as the rich bastards seized the opportunity to cement in place a security/surveillance state with effectively an executive-only government. From that day forward, the Bill of Rights could not be depended upon to protect you, even if you were an American citizen, from arbitrary imprisonment or even assassination.

This year the glue has dried and the anything-but-representative government is firmly in place. Both major political parties have thrown in with the full-blown batshit-crazy economic approaches of Herbert Hoover, and rampant poverty is on its way. Indeed, Paul Krugman recently wrote a blog post titled Barack Herbert Hoover Obama. And America is at war with much of the world, a war that absorbs much of our resources, our energies and our nation’s youth.

I see no way out of this situation. The only question is this: how far away is the bottom of that slippery slope?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Friday July 8, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration…… peace, m

    • Steve  On Friday July 8, 2011 at 10:42 pm

      MandT – I know it’s not a cheery post, but I thought the dots needed to be connected, in summary form, in one place, in case I should ever fail to remember the connections.

      I am still sorting through both the events of the week and the fragments of understanding of the increasingly apparent fact that we no longer have any representatives in Washington… none at all. That realization leaves me with a fear, a “nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance,” the very fear FDR spoke of in his famous speech. Somehow I have to come to grips with that fear in order to decide how to proceed against the evils themselves. “Waiting is,” as Valentine Michael Smith said.

  • MandT  On Friday July 8, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Indeed, same here. I look to my fleeting last years and realize that all I knew and what millions of we idealistic boomers will change rather dramatically soon. It may be my last protest to vote against Obama and the DINO machine, but it will be a perfectly moral choice and one that will give me peace in the chaos to come.

    • Steve  On Saturday July 9, 2011 at 10:30 pm

      MandT, in 2000, I could not have imagined NOT voting for the Democratic candidate for president. Next year, the only thing that will salve my conscience is that the Democratic Party I supported so actively in the old days simply no longer exists… and its president is a pitiful excuse for a Democrat, in my meaning of the word. I don’t know what I WILL do, but I know what I WON’T do, and that’s vote for Hopey-Changey. Once was one time too many.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

