Friday No-Cat Non-Flogging

OK, I didn’t post a cat pic today. On the other hand, I didn’t beat any cats, either ours or anyone else’s. Nor did we beat the ever-so-cute baby… critter of indeterminate species, though we think it may be a possum… the face is right, and we’ve had them here before. And… the strongest indication that it’s an opossum is that it had the temerity to dash in the back door, briefly terrifying Stella, who is not at her best when confronted with critters other than cats. Still, she has grown fond of the little critter, and all four of us… the two cats have indeed noticed as well… often gather around the patio window at night acrpss from the possum to catch a glimpse of each other.

OT, a couple of days ago I mentioned a heavy burden. Today I may announce, without detail (apologies; it’s just not possible), that the problem has been solved and the burden has vanished. But damn, I’m tired in the aftermath!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • ellroon  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Hugs in any case, Steve. And blessing upon your peaceful coexistence with a possum. I’m afraid my apricots have taken a beating by the squirrels and birds, the raccoons are digging about my squash and everybody is waiting for my tomatoes to ripen. I’m looking up squirrel pie …..

    • Steve  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 11:21 am

      ellroon, thanks. Fortunately (or not), there’s nothing growing in our back yard that would appeal to a small furry critter, so we’re safe there.

      As to that recipe for squirrel pie, at least you won’t have to add the squash and apricots; consider it a pre-mix. 🙂 Years ago I had raccoons for neighbors, and found them too clever by half when it came to obtaining cat food.

    • Steve  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 11:22 am

      (Hurray! WordPress fixed the Post Comment button, at long last!)

  • MandT  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Good news about the burden! I seem to find a heap of em at this stage of life, so I read David Foster Wallace and raise my usual existential pain to the level of relief. Now, about that squirrel pie ( no offense to Opossums, but they work too). My ancient neighbor insists that you have to have at least two, in order to make a pair of slippers.

    • Steve  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      MandT – two of four of our household members (Stella and I) are sympathetic to the plight of opossums; the other two of us would cheerfully make a meal of one or more of the babies, which is why we’re trying to keep them out. We’ve seen at most one possum at a time, but a couple of years ago I saw an exTREMEly pregnant mama possum waddling along looking like a bag full of pool balls, so I assume there are several out there.

  • Bryan  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    The joys of baby ‘possums should be experienced by all 😉

    Glad to hear about the resolution of the problem, Steve.

    Your neighbor’s right, MandT, and they really live up to the name ‘slipper’ if you have tile floors and fur side out.

    • Steve  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Hilarious, Bryan! I’m reminded of the time a raccoon slipped past me outdoors unseen, into the barely closed door of my apartment over by Hermann Park (a good source of raccoons), and helped him/herself to the contents of the large metal catfood box. That’s right… the ‘coon with its clever paws managed to OPEN the metal box’s fitted lid. Quite a feast s/he had before getting the boot from me!

  • MandT  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    LOL!

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I still haven’t recovered from my “squirrel in the basement” adventure. And that happened many years. ago. 🙂

    Squirrely Lesson.

    • Steve  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      Great fun, Mad! Thanks for pointing us to your squirrelly gender-equality story!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

