One Last Slap At Anthony Weiner… By Me

The formidable Freedom Rider (who also writes under the name Margaret Kimberley) points out something that I missed altogether: Anthony Weiner’s career started in a City Council race in which he won the primary by race-baiting. That does it for me. Anyone who engages in an undeniable appeal to racial hatred (and indeed Weiner did not deny it; see the Salon article for details) deserves no one’s admiration, nor should anyone cut him any slack for other faults in light of this egregious behavior.

Let me be clear about this: I would feel the same degree of disapproval if Weiner were Black and had leveraged anti-Jewish sentiment in the same mixed district. Some things are simply beyond the pale, no matter who does them to whom. Race-baiting is such a thing.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lab Kat  On Wednesday June 22, 2011 at 2:07 am

    Off Topic…. I’m limping back online. http://www.labkatblog.blogspot.com. In rebuilding mode, but I’m taking time to revisit my regular haunts. 🙂

    • Steve  On Wednesday June 22, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Lab Kat! It’s really good to see you again! I’ll put you back on the blogroll as soon as I’ve posted this. I look forward to reading your posts again.

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Hmmm, I wasn’t aware of this at all.

    • Steve  On Saturday June 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      Mad, the evidence seems solid enough, and the source of the information is Weiner himself. I can’t imagine doing such a thing on my very worst day, and certainly not to win a mere election. Surely there is at least one liberal Democrat in that district who could serve in Congress without resorting to racial bigotry to get elected.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

