Damn… TDL Troubles

I renewed my Texas driver’s license this morning. Everything I was told by a friend about the process was false, at least for me, at least on this day. I was worried they would be concerned about my gigantic boot… they scarcely gave it a glance. But they did jam my face against the eye torture machine, which correctly determined that my right eye is a bit fuzzy compared to my left. And they decided… hey, it’s their call… that unless I obtained an ophthalmologist’s letter stating otherwise, I have to wear corrective lenses. In real-world terms, this makes no sense: I see fine for driving purposes, and need glasses only for reading or close work.

So now I have a task before me. First I have to find over-the-counter glasses with a correction factor of 0, then I have to remember to carry those AND my reading glasses with me on every excursion…

But I am done with the renewal process for another six years. Or not… but somehow I doubt I’ll be expected or permitted to renew my license once all of me is within the confines of a small box…

UPDATE: OK, I have a good pair of “glasses” now… wire-framed the way I like ’em (yes, old hippie at work here), and 1.00 diopters. I don’t know the meaning of the measure; I don’t know if that’s zero magnification or a very tiny magnification… but it’s imperceptible to my eyes, and I can drive in them without really noticing their presence. The new license requires me to have correction, and it is good to comply with the law when possible, unless you’re deliberately engaging in civil disobedience, which would be pointless in this case.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Tuesday June 14, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Congratulations! Just thinking about a DMV visit is stressful. You have joined the club of two glasses dudes. I buy mine in bulk at the dollar store and often wear two at once if I have to read labels at the store. Good work—-a few years of relief.

  • c  On Tuesday June 14, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Not to mention those of us who need contact lenses or glasses for distance vision (such as driving) as well as 2 different sets of reading glasses, one set for when wearing the contact lenses and another set for reading but not wearing contact lenses. Not a single one of us is getting any younger. =(

  • Steve  On Tuesday June 14, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Thanks for your sympathy, folks.

    Stella found the perfect (if expensive) solution: she interviewed around until she found the agreed-upon best Lasik surgeon in Houston and had that procedure done by him. At her request, she had one eye done for close work and one for distance, so she never needs glasses. She does have to carry a letter from the eye surgeon when she renews her DL, though… that combination, which the brain has no difficulty synthesizing as needed, drives the DL eye torture machines bonkers.

  • Steve  On Tuesday June 14, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    BTW, MandT, where you wear two pairs of glasses, I usually reach for a large magnifying glass I keep near the computer. That plus one pair of glasses allows me to read almost all… not quite all but almost all… small type.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

