Heat

It’s fucking hot here… 95°F (35°C) at 4:30PM, no rain, few clouds, dry enough by Houston standards (49 percent) but no rain forecast this week, and no relief from 98°-100°F highs, either (about 8°F above average for this time of year). Stella is about to head out to deliver some freelance editing work (she needs to deliver a paper copy, so it can’t all be emailed); she’s even more sensitive to heat than I am, and I don’t know how she will stand it. Mostly I’m just staying home, but tomorrow I have to deal with my driver’s license renewal (in person this time), so I’ll just grit my teeth and do it. If you live somewhere that’s cool, enjoy it for me, please.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bryan  On Monday June 13, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    The heat index was above 115° when I went to the store this afternoon, and they’ve posted a heat advisory for tomorrow. There are thunderstorms around, so, if you’re lucky you might see some rain, but in any case they just increase the humidity into the 70-80% range.

    There are no cats hanging around by my air conditioner outside because the water is just streaming off of it and overflowing the bowl that catches it.

    • Steve  On Monday June 13, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      Bryan, the cats here are lying flat out on the bare hardwood floor, in an attempt to stay cool. Humans and felines alike are drinking lots of water. Even being indoors doesn’t really fully compensate for heat like this, as you know from direct experience. I can only hope that the line at the driver’s license office doesn’t extend out the door (as sometimes happens, because Texas would never, ever budget enough money to fund the number of offices needed in a county with two million people.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

