Facebook Never Took The ‘Don’t Be Evil’ Pledge

And that’s why you won’t find me there. What are they up to now? They’re using facial recognition s/w to automatically tag you in photos, unless you explicitly turn the feature off. Here’s how to do that. Another way to do that is to close your goddamn Facebook account. (I never had one in the first place.)

By the way, I can’t help wondering if it’s significant that they’re doing this after hiring two former GeeDubya Bush staffers to “oversee Facebook’s public policy efforts” (I suppose that means to manage their lobbying) and to work on “congressional relations” (hmmm…). I suppose it’s true that you are known by the company you keep.

H/T Avedon.

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bryan  On Saturday June 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    People miss the point that they aren’t customers, they are workers for Facebook, et al. and their “employers” feel no constraints.

    People supply Facebook with the content that attracts visitors, and views attract advertizing. It’s not very difficult to understand. Few people bother to read the “terms and conditions” and have no idea what they agreed to when they got an account.

    One of the reasons I left Blogger was Google’s changes to the terms and conditions, the same reason I haven’t upgraded Win XP with service pack 3. I’m one of those odd people who read things before I agree to them, and won’t just check the box.

    • Steve  On Saturday June 11, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      Bryan, my primary care physician, at the urging of the “concierge medicine” service that owns his practice, formed a Facebook group to communicate in a very general way with his patients… no private info or anything… and I still refused to join. If he has some general info he needs to convey to me, he has to mail a snail-mail letter to me. It’s inconvenient as hell, but I don’t care: I will not join Facebook for any purpose that can be accomplished in a less privacy-debasing manner.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

