Friday Cat Begging

Esther pleads with me to give her some real food, not that yucky diet stuff…

Esther and Lily have both gotten to be on the, ah, heavy side (not to be confused with the Heaviside layer referred to in Cats), so they are being subjected to food of which they’re not especially fond. Too bad. We’re a household with a history of keeping cats for two full decades when possible, so they’ll just have to suck it up and eat the diet stuff for a while.

NOTE: Yes, I did black out the green-eyes manually, using GIMP. Maybe in my old age I’ll get good at it. But this is actually a fairer representation of how Esther’s eyes look in real life… big, round and dark.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bryan  On Friday June 10, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    That is a definite “Surely you jest, human” look on her face. I hope they aren’t vocal, because the “I’m starving” opera can be quite trying.

    It’s not just that they don’t like the food, they don’t like the quantity.

    My Mother’s poodle, used to give that look during his frequent diets.

    • Steve  On Friday June 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Bryan, these cats are rarely chatty, even when hungry. They prefer to wait until you are walking somewhere, then obstruct your progress, and attempt to divert you to their food bowl area. Esther is rather good at it; I’ve almost tripped over her occasionally. Lily is still shy of me (probably with good reason, as I think back to her kitten days), and shows up only when she actually hears or smells food in the bowl. Lily may be eating less, but I don’t think she is thinning very fast.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

