IOKIYAR: Rachel Maddow On GOP Statements Re Anthony Weiner

I have been steadfast in my determination not to bother posting on Anthony Weiner’s tempest-in-a-teapartypotparty-teapot… until now. Why now?Bryan Well, for one thing, because Rachel Maddow has done some of the hard work for me, and I concur with her statement pretty much unreservedly. But to compound my frustration, there is no way to embed an MSNBC video object in a wordpress.com blog, so unless somebody copies it to YouTube, I can’t show you her statement here. Please view it on Mustang Bobby’s site; my thanks to him for posting it. It is something that very much needs to be said, over and over, through the 2012 elections: “IOKIYAR” is simply unacceptable. What’s sauce for the goose is sauce for the Cantor.

Raw hypocrisy, thy name is GOP.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Bryan  On Wednesday June 8, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Yep, Weiner was guilty of being from a family that took its name from the capital of Austria, and “passing dirty notes” in study hall. I’m having a problem taking this seriously, because it is stupid – he was stupid and the people acting like it is important are stupid.

    Where was the 24/7 coverage of Judy Miller lying about WMDs?

    You don’t like the “dirty picture”? How about the sand-filled codpiece used by the Shrubbery when he pranced across the deck of the aircraft carrier?

    • Steve  On Wednesday June 8, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      Bryan, the only codpiece I’ve ever seen that was bigger than GeeDubya’s was the one worn at the Texas Renaissance Festival (for which I worked for 10 years) by the man who played King Henry VIII. Ironically, that King was a queen…

      We have no reasonable expectation that the mainstream press and media will treat R’s and D’s evenhandedly. The media are wholly owned, and we must make our way in spite of that. This is why it was so important to me to find a way to post this one particular Rachel Maddow video on my blog: the message of media inequity needs to be pushed again and again until at least some part of the public understands it viscerally. I regret the possible loss of Anthony Weiner, but the issue of media veracity is far larger than just Weiner.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

