Vermont Heads Toward Universal Health Care

… not very fast, but that’s where they’re headed, within about five years. Gov. Peter Shumlin signed a bill Thursday which, according to Nancy Remsen of Burlington Free press, “sets in motion dozens of studies intended to inform decision-makers that include the Legislature and a new regulatory board that will be formed later this year.” The supposed outcome of the multi-year process: the first single-payer system in America.

I’d move tomorrow, if only they didn’t have so much snow… 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Friday May 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Vermont is a fantastic place to live. That old Yankee spirit keeps let-and-let-live democracy is alive and well. But I tell ya, the winters are hard on the aging, even though beautiful and challenging. Plus, without heat subsidies (thanks to shared-sacrifice Obama) those on Social Security are in danger next winter. Why don’t you’z move to Northern CA and be neighbors?

    • Steve  On Friday May 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm

      MandT, I admire Vermont almost beyond words, but I was born in and have always lived in a near-tropical climate. Even without “shared-sacrifice Obama,” I doubt I’d survive a winter in Vermont. Likewise, I love and admire the Bay Area, but I believe it was Mark Twain who said, “The coldest winter I ever saw was the summer I spent in San Francisco.” I’ve been there, too, in summer, and I doubt I could handle it.

  • MandT  On Friday May 27, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    LOL! Except if you live across the Bay in Berkeley you are in the sun belt.

    • Steve  On Friday May 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      MandT, Berkeley is indeed nice. I’ve visited twice, once to see a good buddy from music school who was a librarian somewhere in Berkeley (he has since moved to take a job with the Smithsonian, then back to CA to Sebastopol), and once to visit a girlfriend who was studying law at Boalt. I like the apparent Berkeley law that requires a coffee shop on every corner in the downtown area. That law was most helpful to a weary traveler! 🙂

  • MandT  On Saturday May 28, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    We live four miles from Sebastopol—it’s a great area.

    • Steve  On Saturday May 28, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      MandT – check your gmail box. I sent you some info about my friends in or near Sebastopol.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

