Blogger, Or My Blogger Account, Is Bloggered – UPDATED

I don’t know if it’s Blogger or just my account, but when I tried to view the old YSS site, there was a tiny frame at the top of the page that turned out to be a Blogger login form. Logging in took me straight back to that login form. I repeated the process of resetting the password, twice in all, to no avail: the new password logged in without error (as demonstrated by trying a deliberately bad password), but took me straight back to the login page.

Other Google services, e.g., gmail and YouTube, are working fine at this seat without apparent problems, using the newest password I assigned. Blogger, too, was working just fine this morning; it failed rather suddenly.

The same exact thing happens when I try to comment on your Blogger blog. So don’t expect comments from me until this issue is resolved. I may have to create a new account from scratch. I’ll post more as I learn more.

UPDATE: the problem appears to have been cookies for my instance of Firefox. I removed all cookies containing or referring to “blogger”; I still have a few things to test, but things seem to be working again.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MandT  On Thursday May 26, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    Firefox is a constant problem

    • Steve  On Thursday May 26, 2011 at 11:45 pm

      MandT – I have found rather the contrary. Compared to IE, Firefox has been, for me, rarely a problem.

      This particular problem seems to have occurred when I, in great haste, closed the Firefox main window while it was still updating Blogger-related cookies. My fault? Firefox’s fault? Your answer probably depends on your prior experience with Firefox. Mine has been more positive than with any other browser, ever. YMMV, of course.

      There’s also the fact that for a computer running any flavor of Linux, there aren’t a whole lot of browser choices…

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

