Well, That Felt Strange

I just posted the web site for my contract programming business, announcing that I am… retired. It has been so long since I had occasion to change the site (and I’ve never done it from this computer using its available software) that I had to remind myself how to establish a connection. So now I’m officially gone from the great world of business. Sigh!

In practical terms, I have had no new work for well over two years, and damned few inquiries. I just don’t understand why no one wants to hire an elderly, crippled IT professional… 🙂 Seriously… part of being a contractor is accepting that you won’t be kept on just because you’re a good guy and a good worker. I doubt if there’s any deliberate age discrimination or disability discrimination involved here. But I know everyone who has ever worked for a living reaches this moment eventually, whether they are overjoyed or (as in my case) dumbfounded by what it’s like not to work for an extended period of time.

Now all I have to do is find legal ways to keep food on the table…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

