Paul Ryan Asks ‘Who Needs The Left?’

Via Mustang Bobby, from Michael O’Brien on The Hill, we have this rant from Paul Ryan of budget infamy, on a conservative talk radio show:

“With allies like that, who needs the left?” Ryan told guest host Raymond Arroyo on conservative talker Laura Ingraham’s radio show.

Ryan, the chairman of the House Budget Committee, defended his 2012 budget proposal that includes significant reforms to Medicare.

Gingrich on Sunday distanced himself from Ryan’s plan, which would transform the program into a voucher-based system for Americans under the age of 55.

Right… “With allies like that, who needs the left?”

I’m so glad he asked.

Is your net worth less than $5 million? Is your income less than, say, $200,000 a year? Are you a child? Are you a senior citizen? Are you chronically ill or otherwise disabled? Do you lack health insurance? Are you unemployed? Have you lost your home to foreclosure?

If you answered Yes to any of those questions… you need the Left, and your need has never been more acute.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kay Dennison  On Tuesday May 17, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Hallelujah and Amen! Sing it, Bro!

    • Steve  On Tuesday May 17, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      🙂

      Kay, the world will be a better place if I preach it but don’t literally sing it… 😉

      • Kay Dennison  On Tuesday May 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm

        LOL I understand — I inherited my singing voice from my mother — not my dad. Then again, I have no musical talent at all. I was in band for a while as a kid but I wasn’t good. Did you see the parody at my blog. Funny but sad ’cause it’s true.

      • Steve  On Tuesday May 17, 2011 at 9:39 pm

        Kay, when I was a music grad student for a few years at UH, my teaching fellowship was in music theory… no surprise there… and (ulp!) sight-singing/ear-training. Those two are typically paired in most theory teaching fellowships. One of my students in sight-singing forthrightly told me that I should consider it an advantage to have a rough, not particularly good quality voice, because it made it clear to students that if I could sight-read the exercises and sing them in tune, anyone could! 🙂

  • scott  On Tuesday May 17, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    U.S. Police State Target (rock music video) Released

    Anti U.S. Police State Musician/activist, Scott Huminski, releases his 6th rock video with his band Scott X and the Constitution Commandos.

    (YouTube of song)

    5/17/2011 12:16 PM

    • Steve  On Tuesday May 17, 2011 at 2:59 pm

      scott, welcome. I share some of your concerns, and your band rocks. I changed your inline YouTube post to a link because my threads are not intended as a free publicity mechanism for anyone, but certainly not for someone I’ve never met online before. Good luck with your efforts.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

