Bill Maher On What Christians May And May Not Do

Bill Maher:

UPDATE: here’s a YouTube of the same segment. It won’t stay up long, but it will do for the moment.

UPDATE: it’s gone; use the link to ellroon’s post below to view the video.

UPDATE: here’s a short excerpt from a post about the segment by Glenn Davis of Mediaite:

It wasn’t so much a Christianity-bashing session as it was Maher bashing what he saw as hypocrisy with lines like, “Capping thine enemy is not exactly what Jesus would do – it’s what Suge Knight would do,” and “Martin Luther King gets to call himself a Christian because he actually practiced loving his enemies, and Gandhi was so fucking Christian he was Hindu” (okay, that last one bashed Christianity a bit).

Like Maher, I am not Christian, and I admit it: I’ve wanted to say a lot of what Bill Maher says here for years, at least. C’mon, Christians: it’s one thing to be imperfect compared to your religion’s central figure; it’s another thing altogether to celebrate some of the worst of your imperfections (read: a propensity to enjoy violence) and then compare yourself to Him. Worship whomever you please; just don’t preach at the rest of us that you are better than we are just because you follow Jesus, if in fact you are (um, there’s no delicate way to put this) NOT better.

H/T ellroon, who had better luck than I did inserting the video. Maybe another time.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kay Dennison  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I posted it, too! I won’t call myself a Christian anymore because of what it implies. I am a renegade Catholic who questions everything I see/hear. I’ve explained it to my priest and, being a true Christian, he understands my position and accepts it. There are many who do not and I plain damn don’t care!

    • Steve  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 2:06 pm

      Kay, I was hoping this post (and that video, if you went there) would not offend you too badly. But having been unapologetically called “dangerous” in my UU days… by a fundamentalist evangelical Christian who saw her job not so much as playing lute accompaniments but as converting all the musicians around her… I tend to get a bit touchy when I am preached at by people who do not, IMHO, have the “one true way,” because, once again IMHO, there isn’t just one true way. And those self-proclaimed Christians who literally rejoiced at Osama bin Laden’s death, rather than simply sighing relief, have serious issues to deal with IMHO.

      In my later years I’ve finally become comfortable with my religion, putting aside twinges of discomfort (but not of conscience!) about my vestiges of traditional religion, my unwillingness simply to “believe” because millions of people do, my total comfort with atheism and atheists, and my uncompromising assertion that anyone… of any religion or no religion at all… can lead a moral and responsible life. It is a good place I have arrived at!

  • Kay Dennison  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    It doesn’t offend me at all — obviously! I practice (as I think most people do if they really chose to be honest) my faith in a way that works for me. I acknowledge a loving and forgiving God; I try to follow the Ten Commandments, the Golden Rule, and the teachings of Jesus — all of which are a pretty good basis for a decent life. I also have studied (and respect) other religions and find that they are all pretty similar in their teaching and all have their nut jobs on the fringe. My favorite quote on religion is:

    “I like your Christ; I do not like your Christians. They are so unlike your Christ.” — Gandhi

    I think there are many in this world who need to do some examination of their soul and beliefs today no matter what faith they espouse.

    On a lighter note. a blogging buddy just left a note telling me that he plans to start a new religion based on the teachings of Bill Maher!!!! Now that could well be an idea that’s time has come!!!!! I also don’t think Bill would like it.

    • Steve  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 5:22 pm

      Oh no, Kay; I hope your blogging buddy’s reward is not Maher-tyrdom!

      I suppose, instead of the Golden Rule, he and other practitioners could follow the New Rule… 🙂

  • MandT  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    LOL….. my two favorite contraries, who make perfect sense!

    • Steve  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 5:38 pm

      MandT, I’ve never seen any point… spiritual or otherwise… in not continuing to make sense whenever possible. Kay obviously has a similar view. Thank the good Dog we’re not all identical, and thank Dog we can, most of the time, get along anyway!

  • Kay Dennison  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Steve: LOL What an exquisitely bad pun!!!! I love it!

    I’m not a hardliner on too much and actually dated a Conservative for several years! I just shook my head a lot when he started ranting. I still marvel that anyone with a decent education actually buys into the rhetoric. It’s sad because he was a really great guy who I loved but I just couldn’t deal with it. Oh well. Can I sue the GOP?

    @Mandt: LOL My dear departed daddy taught me four important things:

    1. Never argue about religion or politics.

    2. Opinions are like belly buttons — everybody has one and is entitled to one. (Although there are those from whom I’d like to remove the privilege.)

    3. Never argue with a fool; bystanders may not notice the difference.

    4. Never lower yourself to someone else’s shoddy standards. (See #3)

    As I get older, I hold to Daddy’s words a lot better than I did in my younger years. I’m getting civil in my old age.

  • Bryan  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    OT: The sites hosted on WordPress.com are limited to YouTube and Google Video, and iframe and intext are verboten for security reasons. There have been “issues” and the same goes for javascript.

    They would rather be up and safe that “Flash”y.

    • Steve  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      Bryan: I do understand that fact, and at least some of the “why”. IFRAME is very powerful; one can use it effectively to insert a page or a portion of a page directly into a displayed page… script and all. In WordPress’s place, I’d be inclined to place the same restriction. What I don’t understand is why they developed special tags for YouTube video and Google video (and about five others), but chose to neglect Mediaite. Is WordPress Inc. full of libertarians who can’t stand Bill Maher? Bill seems to be one of the primary users of Mediaite…

  • Kay Dennison  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Just wanted to add that I found that using the old embed code works better. At least it did for me.

    • Steve  On Sunday May 15, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      Kay, I tried a number of things with the Mediaite video before abandoning it for the YouTube video, and none of them worked. Once I started thinking it through, I began to see why WordPress could not allow IFRAME tags and promise any real security. The YouTube video could theoretically have the same hazards, but semantically, WordPress “knows” they do not, so it feels free to insert whatever container is needed (IFRAME?) from an outside URL with reasonable confidence that it will contain nothing pathological.

      No doubt the “old embed code” does work for you. But you’re on a Blogger blog, and things are different over there.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

