Keith Olbermann On Michael Moore

Here. Read.

I am less concerned with whether our national dialogue is civil than whether it is honest, whether its participants are attempting to get at the truth. Loudness in pursuit of honesty is admirable. Civility in pursuit of ad hominem attacks and the willful spreading of lies is deplorable. There is so much of the latter compared to the former these days that I despair of our country’s ability to resolve serious questions with honest debate. Character assassinations of Olbermann and especially Moore, even by allegedly “liberal” commentators, do not constitute legitimate debate. And they contribute less than nothing to the integrity of the sagging structure that was once our nation.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kay Dennison  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 9:25 am

    Beautiful! And I like your new format!

    • Steve  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 9:57 am

      Kay – my new format is changing so quickly I don’t know which one you saw! I’m rummaging through themes, several every minute, trying to find something more readable to old eyes like mine. Things will settle down in a day or so.

  • Bryan  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Keith is right, the objections to what Michael Moore said are right out the same Stalinist manual that the Hedgemony used for for eight years.

    I don’t know of anyone who thinks that the SEALs made the decision – they were just doing their job. It was the Hedgemony who decided to punish the guards at Abu Ghraib instead of the people at the top who made the decision. It is the GOP that blames the unions because the management made rotten decisions about building cars in the US. Michael Moore is probably the premier example of someone who never blames workers for management decisions, so claiming he was “dissing” the SEALs is absurd on its face.

    I’m getting really sick of the “cult of personality” crap [another Stalinist feature]. Nothing is automatically right just because the “Great Leader” says it, and I don’t care if the leader’s name is Stalin, Mao, Kim, Bush, or Obama.

    Michael Moore has ideals, and judges things based on those ideals. The last time I looked, ideals were still allowed in this country.

    I personally think that the SEALs did what they had to do under the circumstances they were dealing with, including the time constraints, but I don’t fault anyone for thinking that they could or should have seized bin Laden. My experience tells me it would have been a terrible idea to attempt it after being on the ground in potentially hostile territory for that long, but most people aren’t familiar enough with these actions to know what I was talking about.

    Attacking Michael Moore because he is firm in his belief in the principles expressed by Christianity and the US Constitution is fairly brain-dead.

    OT: I was up at my Annex, so that is probably what will show up in this comment.

    • Steve  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      Bryan, if bad money drives out good, it is equally true that bad government… and bad government officials… drive out good ones. Karl Rove wins, not because everyone agrees with him, but because Democrats are learning from him and others how to manipulate the fundamentals of the system in ways they used not to. What is difficult for me to comprehend is that the electorate at one time decry what the lying liars say and do, and at the same time seem to be taken in by it. WTF? and I don’t mean “Win the Future”.

  • Madeleine Begun Kane  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Very well said!

    • Steve  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      Mad – thanks. When I get really mad (so to speak) I write better. It will shorten my life, I’m sure, but I have to get it off my chest.

  • Kay Dennison  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I’ll be patient!! And silly me! I forgot to add the new site to my ‘follow’ list so I’m catching up on your adventures!!!!!

  • Kay Dennison  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    AND oh yeah, love the links to FOK.

    • Steve  On Saturday May 14, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks, Kay. I think the appearance should be more or less stable now, apart from minor tweaks. You’ll probably have to Follow the wordpress.com version of the URL; I don’t think the yellowdoggereldemocrat.org can be persuaded to send any kind of notifications… it’s just a one-way forwarding page.

      Keith Olbermann, whether he is a nice guy or not (opinions seem to vary, mostly along political fault lines), is a treasure to his nation. I look forward to his reappearance on Current… which I will have to follow on the web, the way I do just about all the political TV shows, as we do not have (or want) cable in-house.

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)

