Cucumber-Banana Fatwa Story Is Apparently A Fake

Jonathan Turley posted a story that has apparently spread over much of the Web about “an Islamic cleric in Europe [who] has issued his own warning to Muslim women not to get close to cucumbers, bananas or other sexually suggestive fruit.”

No doubt that would seem plausible to the more extreme among anti-Islamic Americans, and there are more than a few.

There’s just one problem, according to this article in The American Muslim: the whole story is a fake. The article’s author Sheila Musaji details her efforts to track down first the alleged fatwa, and failing that, the probable origin of a truly improbable story. She found no fatwa, but she made some progress on finding the story’s origin.

I am not surprised that the alleged fatwa is bogus. Any cleric who would issue such a fatwa would have to be not merely crazy; he’d be fucking bananas.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • karmanot  On Saturday December 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I fell off my chair laughing! Thanks—starting the day with hilarity. Maybe we should issue a fatwa against assholes by Mullah Mullah.

    • Steve  On Saturday December 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      karmanot, it’s something about the way my mind works. I read the original story and thought to myself “that’s fucking crazy” … and then, immediately, “no, that’s fucking bananas!”

  • jams o donnell (Shaun Downey)  On Saturday December 10, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Ach it looks like the sort of story that gets spewed out in our press but about the EU about ludicrous rulings. Cucumbers and bananas have featured in the EU stories too!

    • Steve  On Saturday December 10, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Shaun (are you really switching to Shaun now? I’ll call you whichever name you prefer, even switch your names in my blogroll if you wish)… I didn’t know about the EU cucumbers and bananas. I’ve been passively following the uproar in the EU recently, shaking my head and wondering if Europe and even Britain are heading for insanity and economic disaster the way the U.S. has already done. I do hope you and your nation are not adversely affected.

      I told the story above mainly as an excuse for the pun in the last two words. The link on “bananas” is for my very few readers not familiar with American slang, which I’m sure poses no obstacle at all to you.

  • karmanot  On Saturday December 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    It is my understanding that English cucumbers are quite aloof. 🙂

    • Steve  On Sunday December 11, 2011 at 10:51 am

      karmanot, I’m sure jams (Shaun) could tell you! 🙂

  • jams o donnell (Shaun Downey)  On Sunday December 11, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Indeed they are. But give them a few pints and they will have a jolly good punch up!

Leave a Reply (NB: I'm not responsible for any ad!)